The Ceph Blog

Ceph blog stories provide high-level spotlights on our customers all over the world

April 1, 2021

Ceph Developer Summit: Quincy

Now that the Ceph Pacific release is available, it’s time to start discussions for our next major release at the Ceph Developer Summit: Quincy April 6-9.

The event will consist of developer sessions focused on Ceph components and adjacent projects.

If you would like to join in the discussion, please see the Ceph community calendar, which you can view directly in a browser or add to your Google calendar with the code 9ts9c7lt7u1vic2ijvvqqlfpo0@group.calendar.google.com (highly recommended to avoid any ambiguity around time zones and schedule changes).

Topic proposals and a more updated schedule can be found on the Ceph Developer Summit Quincy etherpad

Date / TimeTopics
April 6
15:00-17:00 UTC
11:00-13:00 EDT
RADOS
Split Cache Improvements
Immutable Content Improvements
Ceph Manager Improvements
Auto-scale Improvements
Confvals YAML to Ceph Documentation
April 7
01:00 – 02:00 UTC
09:00 – 10:00 CST

NOTE: April 6
21:00-22:00 EDT

Crimson/RADOS
– Adapt boost::asio-based in seastar reactor?
(e.g., neorados and crimson messenger + librbd and SPDK for nvmeof gateway)
-Manage RWL Replication Info – Design ReplicDaemon & ReplicaMonitor to manage RWL Replication Info
April 7
14:00 – 15:00 UTC
10:00-11:00 EDT

Orchestrator
– Cephadm resource scheduling
– Autotuning OSD, MON, MDS memory
– Dashboard integration: Facilitate initial deployment tasks and Day 2 ops:
Previous priorities
– Cephadm host draining
– Cephadm-exporter
– Crimson deployment
– nfs + rgw (rgw block in bootstrap or rados config)
April 7
15:00-16:00 UTC
11:00 – 12:00 EDT
Rook
– mgr/rook todo
– Dashboard: status and next steps & UX feedback.
April 7
16:00-18:00 UTC
12:00 – 14:00 EDT
RGW
– Dashboard and RGW: overview of current status and next steps
Ability to execute radosgw-admin commands.
– Alternate bucket indexing schemes: tree-based, SQLite.
– QoS and group communications progress.
– Cache
– Zipper
– Bucket inventory
– RGW Dedup
April 8,
12:00-13:00 UTC
08:00 – 09:00 EDT
20:00 – 21:00 CST
Dashboard
Leftovers
– Dashboard integration with orch/cephadm: Facilitate initial deployment tasks and Day 2 ops.
– Workflow needs discussion and prioritization.
– Telemetry: should we report usage? which pages? etc?
April 8
14:00 – 15:00 UTC
10:00 – 11:00 EDT
CI
– Make check / API tests / infra reliability
– Teuthology / paddles / pulpito improvements
April 8
15:00 – 16:00 UTC
11:00 – 12:00 EDT
RBD
– Dashboard and RBD: overview of current status and next steps
– nvmeof status and next steps
– Can the boost::asio reactor be swapped with seastar, so that we can play nice with SPDK?
RBD Mirroring monitoring
– Volume groups for snap mirroring
April 9
16:00-17:00 UTC
12:00 – 13:00 EDT

CephFS
– Dashboard and FS/NFS: overview of current status and next steps
mds_memory_target? (prioritycache would be nice if possible!)

Mike Perez

Careers